Posted on

A Glass Darkly

Where-Are-Your-Eyes-1-Corinthians-13-12

Any idea what Paul meant when he wrote that? I sure didn’t, so I needed to  some investigating..   

Okay, if I’m  seeing through a ‘glass,’ what meaning  might help make sense of the passage.

Both ‘glass and mirror’ mean, ‘to show an image.’

An ‘image‘ is, ‘a thought in the mind.’

   Is that ‘image/thought’ in the glass….me?   Maybe not, because I am only seeing ‘darkly.’ Now get this, ‘darkly’ means, ‘imperfectly.’

Was Paul saying that when I look in the ‘glass, ‘ I am seeing  myself, ‘not perfect? That I am not seeing my self as I really am?

Thinking  about it, I do not see me. I NEVER see the real me. All I can see is an ‘image’ of me.  Not the real me.

Then Paul said, ‘now we know in part…’ Part means a ‘portion of the whole.

So it seems that right now, I am only knowing  and seeing  a ‘part’ of me, not the whole me because I am seeing darkly. If darkly means, ‘imperfect,’ then yes, I am not seeing the real me, because the real me was created in the image and likeness of God, and what I can now see of me, is not that image and likeness.

Paul goes on to say, ‘then you shall know even as you are known.’

If  ‘know’ means to ‘understand,’ what is it I am to understand?

Understand  which means to, ‘ acknowledge,’ then I need to ‘acknowledge’ who and what I really am and then things will change. Change because according to Paul, right now I do not see who and what I really am.

Right now  I do  not see  ‘clearly’….only darkly/imperfectly.

But one day I will see  face to face, and  instead of only knowing and seeing a part of me,  I will understand and acknowledge who and what I really am

Gods own image and likeness.

NOT the image in the glass mirror.

Not the ‘image’ in my mind. BUT the IMAGE in Gods mind….since that’s what and where I  really am.

And  as God’s IMAGE I am Whole and Perfect.

Never ‘imperfect.’

AND the only place I will ever see the real me FACE TO FACE is

WITHIN ME.

And why?

Because

 I am my father are one and the same.

At least according to Jesus

I GET IT. Do You?

Visit

Understanding Your Reality

 

Photo Credits    1     2     3     4   5  

About babarahs

I was born with an Inquiring Mind and I love all things weird. Weird like UFO'S-Mysticism-Ancient Beings-Really ODD stuff found in the Bible. I do not believe in the reality that has been handed down to me. I believe there is only one Reality....Consciousness. I was also born with a great spiritual desire ...which does NOT include any religion or their beliefs.

Leave a Reply

